It’s taken me a few days to coordinate having the right tools at the right time to be able to upload photos since our Internet access is very limited. We all fight for one of four computers in the computer lab in our dorm that has working Internet access, or for access to the journalism lab (on the other side of campus)–and even then, it’s only if we can get hold of a working student login.

You’ve already read that we went to the Apartheid Museum on Monday, and spent some time with a group of school children out in the parking lot.

Children dancing

They all were dancing and singing together and it was really a blast to photograph. The kids all asked to take our pictures, and as Jill said, hesitantly, we let them. One boy took my camera and ran, while another kid came and grabbed my hand and led me to the sidewalk so he could play with my hair. I joined Amber at the salon that day.

The one thing that I remembered most after leaving the parking lot is that when these kids hug you, they really hug you. It’s not a light grasp, or a hesitant/awkward hug, they latch on and seem genuinely happy.

Dan and kids

In 15 minutes, Jill and I are heading to two camps: one in Midrand and one in Diepsloot. I’m both nervous and excited for what we’re going to see.

Emily, Josh and Keridwen left last night on a train to the Zimbabwe border. My goodness, it’s a 17 hour ride. James and Carolyn are heading out on a bus today at 2 p.m. and it’s a 6 hour ride. I hope they have fun, are safe and get some great stories.

We just got word that we have a security guard, but no driver. And we can’t take a taxi because it’s too expensive (R100), and we have nine minutes to meet our source at the robot. I’m so frustrated.

